21
May
09

黄人 Kijin (Yellow People) conversation 5/21/09

(The following excerpt from a conversation took place in Japanese)

“You’re having fruit for dinner??”
“Yeah…I love fruit in the summer…”
“Do all black people like fruit?” she asked.
“Do, what? What kinda….? I don’t know. I guess so…I don’t know. Do all Yellow People like rice?”
“Yellow People?”
“Yeah. Like yourself.”
She looked at her skin like it was first time she’d ever seen it and scratched her head.

Loco


14 Responses to “黄人 Kijin (Yellow People) conversation 5/21/09”


  1. 1 Zen
    May 22, 2009 at 5:15 am

    Lol…to be continued

  2. 2 deadhippo
    May 22, 2009 at 6:55 am

    Hilarious. Are all black people so funny?

    • May 22, 2009 at 7:28 am

      ha ha very funny muthaf***er (-:

  3. 4 Francisco
    May 22, 2009 at 10:50 am

    reminds me when white people tell me that their favorite mexican food is taco bell

    if that shit does not kill me a little bit inside i dont know what else does

  4. 5 Tom
    May 22, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    Hahaha what kind of question is that?

    Just found your site by accident but I´ve LOLed like 20 times since I started reading.

    Nice Job, I´ll catch you later.

  5. 6 Bored In Kanagawa
    May 23, 2009 at 10:54 am

    Dude, you are out of control! LMAO!

  6. May 25, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    LMAO!!

  7. May 25, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Maybe it’s funnier in English…
    It wasn’t so funny in Japanese hehe

  8. 9 ShiroKenshi
    May 29, 2009 at 4:08 am

    Weird! My wife is Japanese-American and the mother of her ex-boyfriend, an Indiana white trash trailer-park type, once asked her if they have fruit in Japan. As in, does it exist there.

    There are so many misunderstandings based on fruit. 🙂

  9. 10 Mamimi
    May 29, 2009 at 6:32 am

    @ShiroKenshi

    Yeah, that’s a whole two of them now. So many!

  10. 11 Aka Gaijin
    May 30, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    I’m fascinated by Japanese perception of gaikokujin skin and hair color. For the past month I’ve been asking friends what my hair color is. The response has been “yellow” or “brown”. They’re always surprised when I tell them Americans call it red, and when people see Asuka or other red haired anime characters, Americans think of my hair color. Some have told me that Asuka’s hair isn’t natural, just like purple and green hair.

    I’m still trying to wrap my mind around that reply.

  11. June 3, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    I would have paid to look at the face of that person…

    I don’t mean to be a spoiler, but the reading for “yellow people” (黄人) is “oujin”, not “kijin”. The word “kijin” (奇人) in japanese means “eccentric person”.
    Regards
    Loco in Fukuoka.

    • June 3, 2009 at 8:41 pm

      Damn, and you supposed to be my brother from another mother hehehe
      thanks for the lesson and for the shout!!!!


Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2010 Loco in Yokohama / All Rights Reserved

Please know that this blog is my original writing and may not be reproduced in any way without the expressed written permission of the author (that's me!) Thanks!

Words I love…

Everybody is a star
I can feel it when you shine on me
I love you for who you are
Not the one you feel you need to be
Ever catch a falling star
Ain't no stopping 'til it's in the ground
Everybody is a star
One big circle going round and round

Words by: Sly Stone

You're at LOCO IN YOKOHAMA! Are you signed up? If not, better hurry! Subscribe now while supplies last (-: enter your email here!

Join 1 other follower

Blog Stats

  • 249,356 are wondering when Loco will finish this book!

Join Loco’s Network here!

Stumble Upon

Gaijin Beat

Feedjit

Tweetin’

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Top Clicks

  • None

