06
Aug
09

Toilet Paper Folding (It’s the little things… #4)

When I was in the Army I learned how to make a bed utilizing hospital corners.

The idea was of course uniformity. My drill sergeant used to test it’s tightness by dropping a quarter on your bed. If it bounced he moved to the next bed without comment. If it didn’t he’d give you a look that would make Mike Tyson shiver to indicate you had better get on your face (the push-up position) and push-up til he gets tired. Needless to say, I was built like a freight train by the time I finished basic training, but, boy, could I make a bed.

I’m not sure why the practice of folding toilet paper reminds me of those days. Maybe it has something to do with uniformity or cleanliness. In many hotels around the world, toilet tissue folding is done. It’s a way to assure the user that the bathroom had been recently attended to. Only, here in Japan, you can find your toilet paper folded in a McDonald’s, an AM/PM or even a subway station. Of course, the hotels do it up a little fancier. Some even do some elaborate origami designs. But, most everywhere in Yokohama, you can find the basic triangle. The picture below is from the restroom at a popular family restaurant chain here in Japan, Jonathan’s.

toilet tissueWhen I see this triangle I feel that, at least, the staff has been in there since the previous occupant and it has probably been tidied up a bit. It’s  just a little thing but this kind of reassurance makes an otherwise uncomfortable situation a little more relaxing.

Here’s a video on how to do it…(-:

Loco


4 Responses to “Toilet Paper Folding (It’s the little things… #4)”


  1. August 7, 2009 at 7:20 am

    Okay, this is insanely cool. My kids will still use too much paper and block the toilet, but at least it will look more attractive when I come rushing in with the plunger!

  2. August 7, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    Hehehe….thanks Kara for the shout and the laugh

  3. 3 headingforjapan
    August 12, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    Haha, in Japan I heard the women will clean bathrooms while guys are still in it, my sensei makes fun of the Japanese lack of boundary issues…


Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2010 Loco in Yokohama / All Rights Reserved

Please know that this blog is my original writing and may not be reproduced in any way without the expressed written permission of the author (that's me!) Thanks!

Words I love…

Everybody is a star
I can feel it when you shine on me
I love you for who you are
Not the one you feel you need to be
Ever catch a falling star
Ain't no stopping 'til it's in the ground
Everybody is a star
One big circle going round and round

Words by: Sly Stone

You're at LOCO IN YOKOHAMA! Are you signed up? If not, better hurry! Subscribe now while supplies last (-: enter your email here!

Join 1 other follower

Blog Stats

  • 249,387 are wondering when Loco will finish this book!

Join Loco’s Network here!

Stumble Upon

Gaijin Beat

Feedjit

Tweetin’

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

