07
Aug
09

And You? (It’s the little things… #5)

My ex-girlfriend and I used to have a kind of ritual. We’d meet for dinner on Thursdays and after stuffing our faces we’d be off to the Love Hotel for a short stay.  We usually avoided Love hotels in certain areas of Yokohama because both of us work there and the last thing she wanted to do was run into one of her co-workers…and I never considered the possibility of running into anyone I knew. This is back before I realized just how small Yokohama really is.

One evening, we were en route to play. Not quite hand-in-hand but clearly together, giggling and smiling at one another like lovers do. We were a block away from the Love Hotel district when I was  stricken by surprise. Emerging from the throng of people were 4 of the women I work with. I stand out where ever I go so they saw and recognized me instantly.

“Loco-sensei!” the English teacher shouted in surprise at seeing me outside the workplace. “What are you doing?”

“Hi, er, Iwate-sensei…I’m, er…um…this is my…!” I turned to my ex-girlfriend to do the polite thing and introduce her but she was no longer beside me. I hadn’t even noticed…I had to spin around a complete circle before I spotted her about 10 or 15 feet away, looking my way, beet red in the face. She had been so embarrassed she hadn’t even stopped beside me.

The four of them glanced around at where I was looking and my ex liked to have died. Literally, liked to have died. If there had been a bus coming I would have had to restrain her from jumping in front of it. She was that shy, that worried about being identified.  After they peeled their scrutinizing eyes off of my ex they all looked back to me. All except the English teacher, Iwate-Sensei, who I had a pretty good relationship with…or at least I thought I had. She glanced off down the street my ex and I  had been heading down, at the big loud flashing signs of a number of Love Hotels, then back at me with friendlier eyes but a very knowing smirk on her face.

“Er…anyway, where are you guys headed?” I said, trying to change the subject that hadn’t really been broached but felt broached all the same.

“We’re going to get some drinks at a bar by the station…” Iwate-san replied. The others just stood there nodding with frozen smiles. They hadn’t uttered a sound since their shock at seeing me.

“And you?” Her eyes seemed to sparkle when she said it and all but screamed, ‘I know where you’re headed!’

“And me?’ I couldn’t believe that she was actually pressing for intimate information in this manner. I mean, hell, back in NY, I could deal with this situation without embarrassment, but after having lived here for as long as I have, and having gotten to know Japanese people as well as I have,  I have grown accustomed to a little more discretion on matters of a sexual nature.I wanted to say, “I’m about to take that girl over there to the Love Hotel and have sex for three hours and then go have a latte and a smoke at Starbucks,” just to shift the embarrassment back her way, but of course I didn’t.

“Er…anyway, um, I guess I’ll see you guys tomorrow. Have fun,” I said instead.

I wondered if I had been a male Japanese co-worker in the same situation would she have behaved in such a way. I asked my ex what she thought. She’d said,  “Certainly not.”

But, I guess I’ll never really know.

It’s little things like this that make me…

Loco


9 Responses to “And You? (It’s the little things… #5)”


  1. 1 Solla
    August 7, 2009 at 11:37 am

    Nice story Loco , didn’t you think of just grabbing your gf and walking to the hotel while giving the teachers a short greet … It would have gotten you out of that situation a lot faster.

    • August 7, 2009 at 12:25 pm

      I was caught by surprise…gotta learn how to think quickly on my feet I suppose. Thanks for the shout Solla

  2. August 7, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    Oh man I woulda jumped through that opening!! Cuz I got a BIG mouth that’s how come.

    I woulda said…
    Oh, I’m gonna hit this fine Woman slow and low but deep and hard. Then Ima kindly ask her to go wash up. Then, Im gonna go downstairs to the shorter hairs and do tongue twisters till she catches feelings at least 2x maybe more depending on how she’s feelin. Then after she’s tired from screamin and shaking Im gonna get up 1 more time and finish strong.

    She will then be numb and drained and I’ll have to practicly help her get re dressed but then she’ll say things and words that will confirm what I already know.

    I gave this and a massage to a “Birthday Girl” who just celebrated her 26th last night😉

    ***This woulda been outta ear shot of my lady as not to offend her by ignoring her presence and feelings. I then woulda kept my eyes on “Iwate-san” as I would have during the whole explanation, and I woulda asked “So…anymore questions??”***

    Being great is great.
    And people who don’t like hearing about your greatness shouldn’t ask questions.

    • August 7, 2009 at 2:03 pm

      Chris B you got me in tears over here! ROTFLMMFAO

      AKA thanks for the shout…you’re right it is interesting.

  3. 5 Aka Gaijin
    August 7, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    I doubt my coworkers would ever talk to me again if I voiced some of the offensively honest things I think up. Then again, I also have friends off base who would laugh and ask if they could take pictures. It’s interesting to see who’s influenced by the American presence in town, and who avoids it.

  4. 6 Tom
    August 8, 2009 at 12:49 am

    “And You?”

    “What? Us? Just heading to the nearest Love Hotel…Care to join us?”

    It would`ve been fun to see her expression after that one hahaha

    Of course that you have to see her every day at work so your tactic seems to be the most adequate.

    Stay Loco.

    Hasta.

  5. August 12, 2009 at 12:32 am

    I am sure your ex appreciated you not elaborating!😎

  6. August 12, 2009 at 12:51 am

    Tom-san, yeah, gotta work with these people…
    Reason2: Yep, I’m sure she did (-:


Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2010 Loco in Yokohama / All Rights Reserved

Please know that this blog is my original writing and may not be reproduced in any way without the expressed written permission of the author (that's me!) Thanks!

Words I love…

Everybody is a star
I can feel it when you shine on me
I love you for who you are
Not the one you feel you need to be
Ever catch a falling star
Ain't no stopping 'til it's in the ground
Everybody is a star
One big circle going round and round

Words by: Sly Stone

You're at LOCO IN YOKOHAMA! Are you signed up? If not, better hurry! Subscribe now while supplies last (-: enter your email here!

Join 1 other follower

Blog Stats

  • 249,356 are wondering when Loco will finish this book!

Join Loco’s Network here!

Stumble Upon

Gaijin Beat

Feedjit

Tweetin’

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Top Clicks

  • None

