19
Jan
10

Black and White in Japan, pt.1

When I first  came to Japan I lived with an Australian and a New Zealander; both cool, both funny, and both white. Over the years I’ve worked through most of my race issues, but sometimes my prejudice escapes from the cage I keep it in and says things like, “Eminem’s pretty talented for a white boy, but I wouldn’t mention him in the same language with Rakim or NAS or Biggy Smalls.”

Joe- he was the New Zealander- hadn’t even mentioned Eminem, the most popular and top earning HipHop artist at that time. He’d just asked me who were the best MCs in my opinion; an opinion he valued because not only was I, well, black, but I hail from NYC, arguably the Hip-Hop capital of the world. But, I’d inexplicably felt this need to make it crystal fucking clear that Eminem wouldn’t even be considered for any of my best list- no way no how.

What made it worse is that Joe had just rolled with it, like he’d expected me to hold that opinion and that kind of prejudice against Eminem. And to top it off, and make worse much worse, it was a big fat lie. I think Eminem is actually much more talented and far cleverer than half of the black Hip-hop artists out there spitting inanity with their only qualifying attributes being breath control, misogynistic lyrics (hmmm, what rhymes with “stink bitch”? Ah! Got it! “chink bitch!”) and a hot producer.

So, how did I come to live with two white cats?

Well, I’d taken this job with an English Language school that was as ubiquitous in Japan as Starbucks are in Midtown Manhattan (you know which). Consequently, the company was the number one recruiter of foreign workers in Japan, and thus tried their utmost to make relocating to Japan as painless as possible. The upside of this aid is they provided apartments at relatively reasonable rates that didn’t require you to go through the rigors and expense of doing so in a language and a culture as foreign as foreign gets. For example, a Japanese landlord is entitled to a non-refundable gratuity, equal to a month’s rent, in addition to the deposit, while the wait staff at a restaurant gets jack for gratuity. The drawback, however, is that you often find yourself in a roommate situation with absolute strangers, thrown together randomly, and forced to get along.

But, I was lucky. They were both great guys.

I didn’t know much about Australians and even less about New Zealanders before we were thrown together.  All I knew about Australians was Crocodile Dundee-like foolishness, and if it werent for Lord Of the Rings New Zealand wouldn’t even exist in my world.

Aussies and Kiwis weren’t on my list of oppressed peoples of the world so they were beneath my notice.

I don’t know when it happened but at some point in my life I developed a strong curiosity and empathy for the oppressed and abused peoples of the world, both current and historical. I guess I always wanted to compare abuses and abusers with them. I liked to read books about how these civilizations survived (or not, in some cases.) Sometimes to gain clues as to how to succeed in a society where the majority oppresses the minority, and sometimes just to satisfy my morbid fascination.

In NY, it was a constant comparison with the Jews. They’ve been persecuted for centuries same as Africans/African diaspora. They were exterminated, we were exterminated. Their religion and unity pulled them through and spirituality definitely was a unifying factor in the survival of the black race. The Native Americans have always been a curiosity of mine, as well. I couldn’t tell you the difference between a Cherokee and a Pawnee, but I could tell you who their nemesis was even before I saw “Dances with Wolves”. Nor did I have to read many books about the natives in Canada, the natives in South America, or the aborigines in Australia to find out who virtually wiped them out.

I’d never met any aborigines, nor lived with descendants of their conquerors before. But there I was, living with an Australian named Gregg who managed to somehow innocently refer to black people as “colored guys” and -not-so innocently- refer to Aborigines as “Abos” and as useless uneducated drunks who want to be separate from civilization…a nice way of saying savages.

And this was my first week in Japan.

Loco

to be continued…click here for part 2


11 Responses to “Black and White in Japan, pt.1”


  1. January 19, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    “Eminem’s pretty talented for a white boy, but I wouldn’t mention him in the same language with Rakim or NAS or Biggy Smalls, that’s for damn sure.”

    Never downloaded or listened to Eminem unless it was by accident. He is a hella “freestyler” but Dre’s beats floated him.

    The Geto Boys. Scarface (solo), 2pac, Too $hort & LL. Bass slammin’
    You leaned East side…naturally so here’s a vid from a boy named Lesane who was born in Brooklyn😉

    For you LOC. Watch the vid🙂 and enjoy!

  2. 2 Dana
    January 19, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    Oh boy, I’m psyched to read the next segment of this! I too didn’t have many ideas about Australians before moving here. Unfortunately, their esteem in my eyes has mostly worsened. I try not to judge people before meeting them, but several Australians I’ve met have really made Americans look angelic just by being so culturally and racially insensitive.

  3. 3 Hapa
    January 20, 2010 at 3:46 am

    Loco,
    Don’t forget the Hawaiians.
    US Govt overthrew the monarchy, and stole all of the land to protect
    the pineapple and sugar barons –not a story taught in schools — not
    to mention the racial genocide, oppression, and cultural demonization of the “savages”.

    BTW, I still love the Jungle Brothers, KRS One, Q-Tips voice, the beats of DJ Premier…

    much love, and aloha…
    Hapa

  4. January 20, 2010 at 10:00 am

    Chris-san, mad love for the video and the shout as usual!Enjoyed it brought back mad memories. Natsu friggin kashi LOL
    Yeah, Pac was the perfect amalgamation of East and West coast. WC Style and EC Lyrics.

    Dana, thanks for the shout! working on it!

    Hapa, yeah the Hawaiians caught a bad one. That’s for damn sure! Thanks for the shout

  5. 5 Zen
    January 20, 2010 at 11:44 am

    ok, I guess I have to strap in for another saga…

  6. January 20, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    this was so interesting – I cannot wait to read more. your writing is getting stronger and stronger – i don’t want to wait much longer!

  7. January 20, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    Regardless of what color your skin is, living with people from different cultural backgrounds is an eye-opener. Nice piece of writing! I’m looking forward to part 2.

  8. January 20, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    Zen-san, thanks for checking in! Reason2, You really think so? Thanks I’ll be right with you. (-: Wouter-san, you’re right about that! Thanks for the shout

  9. January 21, 2010 at 10:49 am

    Yep, I really think so!

    • January 21, 2010 at 7:46 pm

      Well, thank you reason2! I mean coming from an excellent writer like yourself I’m flattered. And more importantly inspired! So thanks again


Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2010 Loco in Yokohama / All Rights Reserved

Please know that this blog is my original writing and may not be reproduced in any way without the expressed written permission of the author (that's me!) Thanks!

Words I love…

Everybody is a star
I can feel it when you shine on me
I love you for who you are
Not the one you feel you need to be
Ever catch a falling star
Ain't no stopping 'til it's in the ground
Everybody is a star
One big circle going round and round

Words by: Sly Stone

You're at LOCO IN YOKOHAMA! Are you signed up? If not, better hurry! Subscribe now while supplies last (-: enter your email here!

Join 1 other follower

Blog Stats

  • 249,356 are wondering when Loco will finish this book!

Join Loco’s Network here!

Stumble Upon

Gaijin Beat

Feedjit

Tweetin’

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Top Clicks

  • None

