02
Mar
10

Live from Locohama S1/E12: Scent of a Watch

30 minutes ago I returned to the teacher’s office from teaching a class to find a golden watch on my desk. Someone must have been doing something at my desk and accidentally left it there I assumed. I figured they’d return for it sooner or later so I didn’t touch it.  Then, 10 minutes ago, the following occurred:

Mori-sensei (to Yoshida sensei, whom I was speaking to at the time in front of her desk. In Japanese): Yoshida sensei, I beg your pardon but do you see that watch on Loco sensei’s desk? Does it belong to him? A student found it on the third floor staircase.

Yoshida: Oh really? (She walks over to my desk, picks up the watch and brings it to me) Is this your watch?

Me: No.

Yoshida: I’m sorry, but he says it isn’t his.

Mori: I’m sorry. It was the student that thought it was his…she said that it has his smell. (Giggle / snorts)

Yoshida: You don’t say…(Giggles, covers her mouth in an embarrassed fashion. Then to me:) Is it yours?

Me: No.

Yoshida: (To Mori sensei) I’m sorry but did the student say it smelled like him?

Mori: That’s what she said. I, myself, am not aware of any smell, but children have very keen senses.

Yoshida: That’s true (she turns to me) So, it isn’t your watch?

Me: No, it isn’t my watch…and that’s the third time you asked me.  (I show her the G-Shock on my wrist) This is my watch. (I point to the watch in her hand) That is not my watch. (Then I turned to Mori) Ore no tokei janai. (It aint my watch!)

Yoshida: A student says that it has your smell… (she fails to restrain it and giggles again, covering her mouth)

Me: Let me see it…(I take a whiff. It smells like smoke.)  Smells like a smoker’s watch. There are about, I don’t know, 10 of us? Including Mori-sensei.

Yoshida: I see…

Mori- I’m sorry, Loco sensei…(He walks over to Yoshida and I and takes the watch from her, gives it a once over, and mumbles something in that incomprehensible Japanese that men speak sometimes. Yoshida giggles again)

Me: What did he say???

Yoshida: He says…nan darou…he says that it’s not…real? Janai…fake. It’s fake.

Me: A knock-off?

Yoshida: Yes… Like is sold in Chinatown.

Me: I see…well it aint mine!

Ozawa-sensei- (From his desk where he’d listened to the whole conversation) May I please have a look at it?

Mori: Why, of course…(Hands it to him)

Ozawa: It belongs to one of my students. A Chinese student.

Mori & Yoshida: Yappari! (We should have known…)

Ozawa-I can handle this!

Mori & Yoshida: Thank you so much, Ozawa sensei!!!

Ozawa: No sweat.

Me: So, it belongs to a Chinese student?

Yoshida: Ee? You understood that? (Utter surprise on her face) Sugoi!! Your Japanese is really good!

Me:…

Loco

PS: Ummm…if you read / follow my blog, why don’t you go to my networkedblogs page here and click “follow.” (and rate me…I like 5 stars but I’ll take what you got) It’ll help me build up my readership and whatnot. Also you can catch my tweets at Locohama.


12 Responses to “Live from Locohama S1/E12: Scent of a Watch”


  1. March 2, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    Chinese, American .. had to be one of you cheap smelly gaijin. Yappari.

    • March 2, 2010 at 2:25 pm

      Yappari ne…spoken like a ex-pat!
      thanks for the shout Michael (-:;

  2. 3 R
    March 2, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    Good lord. The Japanese really are xenophobic. Yappari, ne. >.<
    (You should say that to them the next time they pull something like that!)
    I can't thank you enough for putting your hilariously disturbing stories on the 'net, Loco!

    • March 2, 2010 at 11:34 pm

      My pleasure R…Tell all your friends and associates (blast your hotmail / FB/ Twitter) and keep coming back and commenting is thanks enough…for now (-;
      Loco

  3. March 3, 2010 at 1:43 am

    Between the USB post and this one, you really work in a place that could be a sitcom like ‘The Office.’

  4. March 3, 2010 at 2:28 am

    Good grief. You tell stories so well! I’m in a very different boat across the pond.

    Our company accountant is tickled pink that I’m studying Japanese and seems to think I know more than I do. Perhaps it stems from having lived here for over twelve years and raising kids with an American-born husband.

  5. March 3, 2010 at 4:11 am

    This is the 2nd time in the week that someone has referred to your smell. I see a pattern…watch your back. I think you’re the next target of Japan’s Candid Camera or Punk’d.

  6. 8 Moogiechan
    March 3, 2010 at 6:02 am

    Since they seem bound and determined to talk about your scent, I’d suggest bathing in some cheap aftershave but that would be like putting kerosene on an open flame…

  7. March 3, 2010 at 10:42 am

    I can only laugh.

    It reminds me of the time I went to a bar in the Boston area with my girlfriend and met up with some of her colleagues from her dept. Someone had left a hat on the bar in our vicinity. It was a baby blue woolen hat with a peak like a baseball cap. I was wearing black jeans and a black tee with a sort of ochre/wheat colored, down-filled jacket. Needless to say, a baby blue hat would have looked more than a little off. Furthermore when we walked in and said hello to everyone I was not wearing any hat.

    Nevertheless my girlfriend’s colleagues came in a steady procession. Attributing an item of “urban fashion” to the sole black person in the bar, each would ask me if the hat was mine.

    The look on my girlfriend’s face was priceless.

  8. 10 Produce Stand
    March 3, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    Throw them in a loop and start spraying your stuff with lady perfume HA!

  9. March 4, 2010 at 4:32 am

    So what exactly do you smell like Loco, considering there are 10 other smokers in the school?

    The more I read your stuff the more “The Office” comparisons seem so appropriate. Except that it would not be fiction!


Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2010 Loco in Yokohama / All Rights Reserved

Please know that this blog is my original writing and may not be reproduced in any way without the expressed written permission of the author (that's me!) Thanks!

Words I love…

Everybody is a star
I can feel it when you shine on me
I love you for who you are
Not the one you feel you need to be
Ever catch a falling star
Ain't no stopping 'til it's in the ground
Everybody is a star
One big circle going round and round

Words by: Sly Stone

You're at LOCO IN YOKOHAMA! Are you signed up? If not, better hurry! Subscribe now while supplies last (-: enter your email here!

Join 1 other follower

Blog Stats

  • 249,356 are wondering when Loco will finish this book!

Join Loco’s Network here!

Stumble Upon

Gaijin Beat

Feedjit

Tweetin’

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

