13
Mar
10

Live from Locohama S1/E19: Sayonara, Ki wo Tsukete, ganbatte!

Graduation Day. Time to say sayonara, ki wo tsukete, ganbatte (so long, take care, and do your best) again. Sending my kids out into the world to meet their destinies. Parting is such sweet sorrow.

Yuka, Yuri, Sayonara, Ki wo Tsukete, ganbatte!

 

Remember Terrence (from the “Are you African?” series?) Sayonara, ki wo tsukete, ganbatte

Mia, Kaori, Yoko, sayonara, ki wo tsukete, ganbatte!

Aiko, sayonara, ki wo tsukete, ganbatte!

Remember The Onanii Brothers? Yuuji, Tarou, Sayonara, Ki wo tsukete, Ganbatte!

  The Onanii Boys, sayonara, ki wo tsukete, ganbatte!

Twins! Sayonara, ki wo tsukete, ganbatte!

Yumi, Maiko, sayonara, ki wo tsukete, ganbatte!

Remember Hideki from The Speech Contest? Here he is, with a kd who’s name escapes me )-: nevertheless, sayonara, ki wo tsukete, ganbatte!

Yuri, Natsumi, Saori, Yuka, Yumi, sayonara, ki wo tsukete, ganbatte!

Teaching is a great job, but parting with them is the most difficult part. I will miss every single one of them.
Loco

PS: If you read / follow my blog, why don’t you go to my networkedblogs page here and click “follow.” (and rate me…I like 5 stars but I’ll take what you got) It’ll help me build up my readership and whatnot. Also you can catch my tweets at Locohama.

8 Responses to “Live from Locohama S1/E19: Sayonara, Ki wo Tsukete, ganbatte!”


  1. March 13, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    Yay!! Pics!!
    My A.D.H.D problem has been attended to 🙂

    Yeah, watching as they fly outta the nest can be hard. The harder it is the better. That means you actually give a fuck. Good on you!! The kids look pretty yasashi for urban kids.

    • March 13, 2010 at 12:24 pm

      Thanks Chris. yep, just for you! Yes, they are chyo yasashiii.
      Loco

  2. March 13, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    All that happiness makes me wish I didn’t have mostly continuously recycled company client as students….

    …although a ‘freshman’ class of ship building company people finished this week and I won’t be able to teach them anymore as they move on to their new job roles and they were my all time favorite bunch.

    The difference being we got to celebrate/reflect on the end through extreme drinking and karaoke! 🙂

  3. 4 Cedric Domani
    March 13, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    Nice looking kids and the teacha is yasashisoo ….i’m surprised they let you keep the facial hair tough. nice post.

  4. March 13, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    Time for a little vacation, then?

  5. 6 sola
    March 14, 2010 at 7:06 am

    Cool entry Loco pictures always add more depth to entries such as these, it was pretty sweet seeing a face to all the people you have been writing about for these past months.

    PS: You look a bit like Mike Tyson in the 6th pic !

  6. March 15, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    It looks like the bitter sweet feeling is mutual on both your and the students’ sides. I agree with Craig, this sure beats a job at a for-profit eikaiwa.


Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2010 Loco in Yokohama / All Rights Reserved

Please know that this blog is my original writing and may not be reproduced in any way without the expressed written permission of the author (that's me!) Thanks!

Words I love…

Everybody is a star
I can feel it when you shine on me
I love you for who you are
Not the one you feel you need to be
Ever catch a falling star
Ain't no stopping 'til it's in the ground
Everybody is a star
One big circle going round and round

Words by: Sly Stone

You're at LOCO IN YOKOHAMA! Are you signed up? If not, better hurry! Subscribe now while supplies last (-: enter your email here!

Join 1 other follower

Blog Stats

  • 251,545 are wondering when Loco will finish this book!

Join Loco’s Network here!

Stumble Upon

Gaijin Beat

Feedjit

Tweetin’

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

