26
Aug
09

It’s the little things #7: Ramen to die for

Ramen is some good eating. Some ramen is better than other ramen. All Japanese ramen is better than that crap that passed for ramen back in the States (which I used to love but now wouldn’t even give to my dog if he sat at my foot panting for it.)

And, yes, I too have my favorites. As far as Yokohama is concerned I can recommend two places.

1- First and foremost, I must recommend my favorite all-time Ramen spot. It’s called Yoshimura-ya and it’s located about 10 minutes from Yokohama Station. If you know the area, walk from the station past Vivre, past Tokyu Hands, and turn the corner. You can’t miss it. It would be the Ramen Ya with the benches out front filled with eager future patrons waiting upwards of 30 minutes outdoors just to get at the delectable dishes within. Yes, the lines can get pretty daggone long. But, I assure you, it is worth the wait. The flavor is worthy of the hype.

yoshi2

There’s a whole crew of guys slaving over meats and veggies. Usually, watching how food is prepared for a cluster of people is not an especially pretty sight. When I was in the Army and drew kitchen duty the experience almost turned me off to eating altogether. I mean, watching some guy stir 100 pounds of pork in a roiling vat of grease, watching pink turn to gray, is not very appetizing.

yoshi2point5

But, watching these guys do it, with all the zeal and professionalism of their trade, is another story.  1500 customers come through this place a day (and most of them seem to be waiting whenever I come here for some reason) and they relish the business in typical Japanese style.

And then there’s the final result:

yoshi1

Oishi sou dayo ne.

I have what is known in Japan as Nekoshita. Nekoshita means a cat’s tongue or a sensitive tongue. So Japanese-style slurping is not something I can do easily. Sometimes I still have to blow first.

yoshi3

But, nothing, least of all a slightly stinging tongue, can stop me from digging into some Yoshimura Ramen.

2- Okurayama’s Nanashi Ramen Shop: It’s across from the Okurayama station on the Tokyu Tohoku line.

七誌

Though the larger-than-life sign out front screams, “RAMEN!” at pedestrians, it’s a small place and if you blink you might miss it… so don’t blink. Because if you do you’ll miss out on one of the tastiest ramens you’ll ever have the pleasure of slurping.

ななし1

If you’re wondering, Yep, it’ s as good as it looks. I’ve been coming here maybe twice a month for the past two years or so and it hasn’t let me down, yet. You can expect to leave here 1500 yen lighter (which is a little steep for ramen and a brew) but I’ve never felt bilked. Also on the menu is some great gyouza and their rice side dish (donburi) is all that.

mukougaoka

If you’re in the area try them both out when you get a chance. You’ll be glad you did. Tell them Loco sent you…just for fun (-;

Ramen: one of those little things…

Loco


15 Responses to “It’s the little things #7: Ramen to die for”


  1. 1 sayjapanese
    August 26, 2009 at 11:36 pm

    mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmh, 🙂

  2. August 27, 2009 at 7:33 am

    Hey! Yoshimura-ya is one of my favs, too. They always have long lines. Did I see you on the train a couple of months ago on the platform at Sakuragicho Station? I knocked on the train window…?

    • August 27, 2009 at 8:41 am

      Probably. I get around (like Tupac said) but I don’t remember the window knocking incident. Nevertheless, thanks for the shout Mc-san

  3. 4 Zach
    August 27, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    I’ll have to make a side trip to Yokohama next time I’m in Japan. I love Ramen! すごい!

  4. 5 XYD
    August 27, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    MMMMMMMMMMM those looks good. How big was the serving? And those cup noodle ramens are strictly on-the-go foods or if I need a quick snack. Otherwise, it stays away from my sight. Usually boil noodle sticks along with making my own chicken broth anyhow instead of those 3 minute noodles.

    You should try other types of noodles too. Like Pho (Vietnamese Noodles.) There is so many variations that just eating one type won’t do you justice until you try as many as you can (of course… professionally prepared ones.)

  5. August 27, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    Break out or be clown, baby doll are you down?
    I get around!! 🙂

    Still My favorite of all his CD’s S4MN. Always was and always will less they dig up rumored Thug Life Vol.2 tracks.

    I don’t ever wait in 30 minute lines for nothing but if it was a slow time I’d definitely stick my head in there and sample the goods.

    Nice pics 🙂

  6. 7 カエル
    August 27, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    Funny, here in Fukuoka they also say “All Japanese ramen is better than that crap that passed for ramen back in the States” except you replace “Japanese” with Fukuoka and “the States” with any other place in Japan. They seem to be very proud of their ramen here. You know its vacation season when you see all the tourists from Tokyo lining up on the ramen shops here.

    http://fukuokadreaming.blogspot.com

  7. August 27, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    OK, I’m starving right now… not a good time to be looking at these pics. Nice post!

  8. 9 LB
    August 27, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    Check out “Ten-ichi”, Tenka Ippin. It is a chain from Kyoto, and yes, they are in Yokohama: http://tenkaippin.co.jp/cgi-bin/pc/shop/detail.rb?id=266

    Get the “kotteri”, not the “assari”. You can thank me later.

  9. August 30, 2009 at 11:00 am

    The ramen looks delicious. I love how ramen workers always wear towels around their heads. Yokohama has its own type of ramen, as do Fukuoka, Tokyo and Hokkaido (and probably other places, too). Which do you like best?

  10. August 31, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    Hey Loco – what are the white things in the second picture? Or do I not want to know? 😎 It all looks yummy!

  11. September 20, 2009 at 7:22 am

    Oh man, that looks good. Have you been down to the Yokohama Ramen Museum?


Leave a comment


Copyright © 2010 Loco in Yokohama / All Rights Reserved

Please know that this blog is my original writing and may not be reproduced in any way without the expressed written permission of the author (that's me!) Thanks!

Words I love…

Everybody is a star
I can feel it when you shine on me
I love you for who you are
Not the one you feel you need to be
Ever catch a falling star
Ain't no stopping 'til it's in the ground
Everybody is a star
One big circle going round and round

Words by: Sly Stone

You\'re at LOCO IN YOKOHAMA! Are you signed up? If not, better hurry! Subscribe now while supplies last (-: enter your email here!

Join 3 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 269,027 are wondering when Loco will finish this book!

Join Loco’s Network here!

Stumble Upon

Gaijin Beat

Feedjit

August 2009
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Top Clicks

  • None