19
Feb
09

Unrequited Love

Sometimes when I read some of the responses to some of my blog entries (god, don’t you just love the word “some”) I get the distinct impression that my readers (some) think that I am suffering from an unrequited love affair with Japan.

Then I read this entry from Naive’s guide to Everything in the world (one of new favorite web blogs) and I began to wonder if my readers are right.

I thought about it long and hard (okay maybe not so long), after reading Naive’s take on it, and I’m convinced it’s either love or hate or I’m straddling that thin line between the two. But it’s definitely not unrequited. I feel the love here (maybe not in abundance, but enough) and I feel the hate here (abundantly) and so I don’ t think whatever I feel is unrequited.

Today, I’m loving Japan and I actually felt a little love returned today (smile and the whole world smiles with you). But, tomorrow, who knows? (-:

Thanks Naive for making me smile again…man did I ever need it!

Loco


7 Responses to “Unrequited Love”


  1. 1 Chantelle
    February 19, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    well….i just think life in japan can’t be that bad…i mean you’ve been there quite some time!!! so naturally it must have some good points right….fact of the matter is when your an ethnic minority (hate the term) u will stand out and no matter where you go in the world that will happen:)

  2. February 19, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    If you end each day richer for the experience it is definitely not unrequited. Being an expat in a country so different from the USA has it’s very low points – but the highs can be equally extreme – it’s all about balance and I love the way you are constantly searching for it!

  3. February 19, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    Chantelle, thanks for the shout! Sometimes (there’s goes that word again) I think I’m just masochistic…or punishing myself for something. Sometimes I think being here is doing wonders for me…And I beg to differ. I spent 3 weeks in Haiti and I didn’t stand out at all (-;

    Reason2, as always, think you for your reinvigorating inspirational wisdom. Yes, balance is key isn’t it?

    Loco

  4. 4 XO
    February 26, 2009 at 1:24 am

    Well, the question becomes WHY? Why put up with it? Why not go back? Do you have some reason to be here any longer? You seem like you have seen enough to understand it. In our I-phone jidai that we live in, you can have access to almost anything you like from Japan back in NY. From Astoria to the east village there are dozens of stores that carry any product you want from Japan. Or based on your last post, there are also plenty of Japanese girls back home. Japanese people have wronged you hundreds and hundreds of times. You have every right to be extremely upset. So WHY keep taking the abuse, when the Internet and globalization can provide you with the benefits of Japan without the hassles?

    I ask you because I am afraid to ask myself…

    • February 26, 2009 at 10:47 am

      Yo XO, long time no see (-:
      Man, I’m as scared as you on that one. Sometimes i think it’s masochism. Some I think I’m punishing myself for some hideous crime i committed in a previous life. Sometimes I think that I have convinced myself that this kind of torture is good for the soul, like those priest in that catholic church that wear belts that stab them when they pray (I read that in a book…maybe Angels and Demons.
      And perhaps the best excuse i can come up with is that the details will give the book i’m writing more depth.

      Loco

  5. 6 gaijinass
    November 10, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    It also…you know….possible to leave….and come back. Shattering concept, I know.
    Anyway, might it not have to do with being in Yokohama?


Leave a comment


Copyright © 2010 Loco in Yokohama / All Rights Reserved

Please know that this blog is my original writing and may not be reproduced in any way without the expressed written permission of the author (that's me!) Thanks!

Words I love…

Everybody is a star
I can feel it when you shine on me
I love you for who you are
Not the one you feel you need to be
Ever catch a falling star
Ain't no stopping 'til it's in the ground
Everybody is a star
One big circle going round and round

Words by: Sly Stone

You\'re at LOCO IN YOKOHAMA! Are you signed up? If not, better hurry! Subscribe now while supplies last (-: enter your email here!

Join 3 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 268,947 are wondering when Loco will finish this book!

Join Loco’s Network here!

Stumble Upon

Gaijin Beat

Feedjit

February 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728